I am a current intern at Movement Research and for the next three weeks I get to take morning class with this amazing man, Luis Lara Malvacias. He is so goal oriented but so playful and clear that you can't help but have a really focused and fun time while dancing. We had 15 students pre-register for todays class from The School of Dance in Ottawa, so we had quite a packed house! 29 total students in little old Eden's Expressway! It was interesting to see the type of training in their bodies I used to think was so desirable. They were absolutely well trained, but absolutely over trained; and they absolutely gave a huge effort in class to get it RIGHT. 
It was kind of lovely to see that energy again, and to know that the precision in weight I seek and see in dancers I admire comes from understanding the body in motion and it's weight and not from muscling it around to force it do to what you insist. I love how much enthusiasm younger dancers have, and though I'm only 29, I can begin to feel my maturity and always developing passion. I don't think i'm quite conveying this the right way, but the sort of hyperactive nature they possess makes me nostalgic and grateful that I'm not quite that way anymore all at the same time. 

Luis is a smart teacher, and is confident without pushing into arrogance. He is open and makes you want to dance smarter. 

I stayed for the Alexander Technique class with Cori Olinhouse of Trisha Brown. She has a private practice in brooklyn and has her B.A. from Bennington. She really had a vivid and logical way of explaining Alexander Technique. I find that most Alexander classes can be so abstract, I'm not even sure what I'm meant to focus on. I can feel changes in my body, but I'm unsure of what my job as a student is while in class. She really helped me find some patterns I might have and discussed the possibilities of directional pathways with us. I really recommend her classes. 

Karen and I are going to brave another night at Yankee Stadium. Hopefully the weather will hold out and they will play!! 

For a complete guide to Movement Research classes, and for upcoming performance dates and applications, please visit www.movementresearch.org. 

4/13/2011 02:04:06 pm

so glad to read your discoveries in class. alexander technique can be very logical and sensible in an intrinsic way, so i'm glad you're uncovering things about your patterns (when i studied it last year, there were many instances early on in which i cried out of confusion, wrote spontaneous verse, and questioned my very understanding of the/my body... but a year later, it's in me without being in me).

also glad i overslept. i hate packed classes. but definitely plan to be there friday cause i really wanna take his class again (hope you'll be there, too?)

and, hope your first time at a real bball game goes great!! u and karen are so cute, i wish and hope we find time to chill before she goes back :(

-m

Reply
4/14/2011 01:06:58 am

Glad you overslept and got some rest. I'm definitely going to go to Alexander as much as my schedule allows so I can continue the exploration. I will be in class Friday for sure!!

Lets try to find time?

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.